E.A. Cummings Center


Cummings Complex

This three-story complex encompasses four buildings suitable for undergraduate students. The four halls are connected but maintain their individual community environment. In the center of Cummings Complex is an upper and lower lounge that proves to be a great space for people to get together with amenities that include: 2 fireplaces, pool table, 2 flat screen televisions, ping pong, shuffle board, and comfortable furniture.

  • Buildings: Emerson Hall, Barnes Hall, Talcott Hall, Lathrop Hall
  • Room Options: Double, Single, Suite, Super Single

Small Houses

The small houses consist of 6 undergraduate halls, all of which are self-contained halls that are co-ed by floor. The small houses’ atmosphere is more homey with each hall having its own common area lounge that is unique and includes a kitchenette.

  • Buildings: Dayton Hall, Svenson Hall, Caster Hall, Ekvall Hall, Olson Hall, McPhail Hall
  • Room Options: Double, Single, Suite
  • First-Year Experience: Dayton Hall
  • 24 Hour Quiet Hall: Svenson Hall

Residence Hall Schedule

We invite you to check out our current Residence Hall Schedule for the 2017-2018 academic year. All dates are subject to change and it is the responsibility of students to be aware of any changes. Dates for opening and closing of buildings will be posted at least two weeks in advance. Students who need to stay in housing over breaks will be required to register. Failure to register may result in removal from the halls for the remainder of the break.

Please be aware that meal plans are not active during university breaks. It is the responsibility of the student to plan their own meals during university breaks. During times when the residence halls are still open, but the university closes, dining service will switch to the 2 meals a day schedule.

Department Information

Residence Life
Kent Center--2nd floor
5050 E. State Street
Rockford, IL 61108
fax: 815-394-3730
Scott Mitchell, Assistant Dean of Students/Director of Residence Life

Mon-Fri - 8:30 am to 5:00 pm