Students at graduation


The Phi Beta Kappa Society was founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary (Williamsburg, Virginia). Phi Beta Kappa (PBK) is the nation’s oldest and most prestigious undergraduate honors society. Today, there are 293 chapters of Phi Beta Kappa in the nation – Rockford University is one of just 11 colleges and universities in Illinois with the distinction of having a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. Chapters, as they are established in each state, take on the corresponding Greek letter. Since our chapter was the seventh to be established in Illinois, it became the “eta of Illinois”, eta being the seventh letter of the alphabet.

The Phi Beta Kappa Chapter at Rockford University (Eta of Illinois) was established in 1953, during the tenure of President Mary Ashby Cheek. Each year since that time, the chapter inducts a select few of its graduating seniors into the Society. These are young men and women who have excelled academically, not only in their chosen major, but also in a broad course of study emphasizing the liberal arts. They have studied a foreign language, they have demonstrated a knowledge of mathematics and science suitable to a liberal arts education, and, through their study, they have gained an appreciation of literature and the fine arts.

Phi Beta Kappa Chapter at Rockford University (Eta of Illinois) Officers:

Professor James Marshall, Ph.D., chapter president
Professor William Gahan, Ph.D., vice president
Professor Catherine Forslund, Ph.D., secretary/treasurer

2023 Inductees:

Kade de Angioletti ’23, Taylor Escamilla ’23, Tergel-Od “Tony” Ganzurkh ’23, Miranda Johnson ’23, Stephanie Prchal ’23, Celia Rothermel ’23, Nikolas Fiut Saenz ’23, Diana Serrano ’23, Tamara Tanchuck ’23

Phi Beta Kappa
Scarborough Hall
5050 E. State Street
Rockford, IL 61108
Fax: 815-226-3335
Catherine Forslund, Ph.D.