reporting pixel for marketing campaign

Campus News / News

Performing Arts students receive unique invite to perform at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe

03/07/2016 2:02 pm


Media Contact: Rita Elliott, Director of Communications, 815-226-3374

20 students and three faculty members are preparing for a unique opportunity this summer to perform on an international stage. The RU group will be attending the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, held August 5 – 29, in the Scottish capital city. Rockford University is one of only four small colleges in the United States invited to attend. Only eight total from the U.S. were invited. Other invited colleges include Texas A&M University, Hope College in Holland, Michigan, and the University of Alabama.

Led by Performing Arts Department Chair and Professor of Performing Arts Deborah Mogford, Associate Professor of Music Timm Adams, and Assistant Professor of Dance Amy Wright, the students will perform a new piece created specifically for the festival, “Taps, Tunes and Tales of the American Songbook.” RU will be at the festival for two weeks and performances will take place throughout the city.

The Rockford University Student Opportunity Fund has committed $47,500 to help offset the expenses of the trip. Additional fundraisers are being held and include a wine tasting and student performance event hosted by RU Friends of the Performing Arts at The Bee’s Knees General Store, 118 N. First St., Rockford, on Friday, April 1, 6 – 10 p.m. $20 per person, with all donations going to support the trip. 

More about this exciting opportunity can be found in the Sunday, March 6, story in the Rockford Register Star – Rockford University to take the stage at world’s largest performing arts festival in Scotland.

Students attending the Edinburgh Festival Fringe are:

Taylor Barnes – Venutra, Calif.
Elisha Beston – Singapore
Mary Bridgeland – Freeport, Ill.
Addison Clearwood – Madison, Wis.
Sarah Cleeland – St. Louis, Mo.
Courtney Foschi – Frankfort, Ill.
Janelle Good – East Highland, Calif.
Samantha Hodson – Flower Mound, Texas
Maya Hopkins – Rockford, Ill.
Kyle McCaffrey – Niles, Ill.
Brandon Michaud – Saint Peters, Mo.
Ilea Pearce – Rockford, Ill.
Joi Pierre – Houston, Texas
Zachary Pletcher – Highland Village, Texas
Kyle Rainey – The Colony, Texas
Alex Smith – Rockford, Ill.
Owen Thomas – Portsmouth, N.H.
Emily Todt – Jackson, Mo.
Sarah Vallacchi – Shreveport, La.
Ana Weickert – Rockford, Ill.

Learn more about these student achievements and others on RU’s Merit page.