The department of Political Science offers the bachelor of arts and bachelor of science degrees. The department’s academic offerings cover the full range of essential subjects in the discipline of political science: political philosophy, constitutional law, American government and politics, comparative politics and international relations, and diplomacy and statecraft. Students interested in political science for the purpose of becoming secondary school teachers should consult the catalog section on the Social Sciences divisional major.

Pre-law political science has long been the traditional major of choice for students who plan to attend law school. While law schools do not require any particular undergraduate major, the study of politics, including courses that make use of legal materials and legal reasoning and that illumine the political context of court decisions, is arguably the most logical and appropriate academic area for those intending a career in law. Whatever their major, pre-law students should consult with Professor Evans (the pre-law advisor), or with other members of the department, on which particular courses in political science and in other departments would most suitably prepare them and on matters having to do with applying to law school.

Major and Tracks/Concentrations:

  • Political Science (B.A., B.S.) — concentrations in American Studies, Constitutional Studies, Legal Studies, Political Ideas, Politics & Culture, and War & Peace

Course Requirements and Offerings

Rockford University’s Political Science department offers students the opportunity to either major or minor in political science.

More information in the Academic Catalog.

Search course offerings and descriptions

Department Information

Political Science
Scarborough Hall
5050 E. State St.
Rockford, IL 61108
Jules Gleicher, Ph.D.