Political Science 

Edward W. and Virginia Mill Award
The Edward W. and Virginia Mill Scholarship was established in 1981 in memory of Dr. Edward Mill, who was Chairman of our Department from 1955 to 1959, and his wife Virginia. In addition to his professorship here, Dr. Mill taught at Long Island University and Occidental College and occupied a number of positions in the United States Foreign Service and the State Department.

The recipient, a junior or senior majoring in Political Science, or a Social Sciences Divisional major whose primary concentration is Political Science, must have completed 20 credit hours in Political Science (or, in the case of transfer students, at least 16 hours at Rockford University), and have an outstanding academic record, both in the major and overall.

Political Awareness Award
The Political Awareness Award was established in 2004 by Helena Milman, an alumna of the Political Science Department who graduated in 1997. Lena came to the United States from Russia, at the age of 15, as an exchange student at Keith Country Day School. Her grasp of English was a bit shaky, but she was fiercely determined to make the best of her new opportunities. While at Rockford University, she attended the Washington Semester Program and was active in Model United Nations and the International Students Association. Following graduation, she worked at a law firm in Chicago. The award that she set up recognizes students who, like its sponsor, have demonstrated extraordinary regard for political thought and political action, and who are free thinkers.

The recipient must be a senior whose GPA is at least 2.4, whose last two years and most of whose upper-level coursework has been taken at Rockford University (including approved off-campus programs, such as Regent’s College or the Washington Semester).

Sociology and Criminal Justice

Bonnie Lynne Keith Albracht Memorial Scholarship
Established in 1990 by Barbara S. and Robert B. Keith, in memory of their daughter who attended Rockford University during the summers in the early 1960’s. This scholarship is awarded to junior or senior students with financial need who are majoring in the helping professions.

Delman Prize in Sociology
The Delman Prize in Sociology was established to honor faculty emeriti. This award may be given to a student based on academic performance and grade point average criteria who has completed at least 30 credit hours in sociology.

Leslie H. Geddes – Rockford Downtown Rotary Club Scholarship
This scholarship, established in 1993 and based on annual renewal, is awarded to outstanding students pursuing a career in the field of criminal justice.

Stephen K. Alberts Memorial Scholarship in Criminal Justice
Established through individual and corporate gifts to the Rockford University Criminal Justice Advisory Board, this scholarship is awarded to part-time students who are majoring in sociology with a criminal justice emphasis or pursuing the master of business administration degree with emphasis in criminal justice. Scholarships are awarded on the basis of merit and current full-time employment in the law enforcement field.

Political Science, Sociology and Criminal Justice

5050 E. State St.
Rockford, IL  61108

Ron Lee, Ph.D.