Classical Languages:

Francis V. Ellis Award in Classics for Exceptional Achievement in Greek or Latin
Granted by Attorney Stephen Ellis in memory of his father, the Francis V. Ellis Award in Classics recognizes excellence in the study of the classical languages (Greek or Latin) and classical civilization.

Modern Languages:

Sally Lo Ware Awards for Distinguished Performance in Modern Language
These awards are to be presented to students who are majoring in one of the languages currently offered by Rockford University.


Walhout Prize in Philosophy
The Walhout Prize in Philosophy was established in honor of Dr. Donald Walhout, Professor Emeritis. This award is given to a student based on academic performance, GPA, and the student must have completed 30 hours in Philosophy.

For more information on scholarships relevant to this department, please visit the Academic Catalog.

Languages, Philosophy, Religion, and Cultures

Yoandy Cabrera Ortega, Ph.D., Dept. Chair
109 Scarborough Hall
5050 E. State St.
Rockford, IL 61108