Latest News: Regent Athletics in the News

Region Collegians: Howe three-peats as Big Ten wrestling champion

Thursday, March 10, 2011  
Share |
By Ken Karrson, (219) 933-3232
Posted: Thursday, March 10, 2011 5:00 pm 

Wisconsin finished fourth, but Andrew Howe took first once again.
For the third consecutive season, the Hanover Central grad claimed a Big Ten wrestling championship in his weight class. The defending NCAA titlist at 165 pounds, Howe defeated Ohio State's Colt Sponseller 3-1 in overtime at Sunday's Big Ten meet after executing a takedown with six seconds left in the extra session.
Howe, who spent a chunk of the current season on the sidelines with an injury, became the first Badger in a decade to register a conference championship three-peat. As a team, Wisconsin placed behind Penn State, Iowa and Minnesota.
Illinois sophomore B.J. Futrell (Mount Carmel) took fourth at 133 pounds at the Big Ten meet after dropping a 6-2 verdict to Iowa's Tony Ramos in the third-place match. Futrell notched victories over Michigan's Zac Stevens (11-5) and Northwestern's Levi Mele (6-4) during the tournament.
Sophomore John Tyler (Highland) and freshman Anthony Hawkins (Crown Point) were among the three Calumet College wrestlers to compete in the NAIA Wrestling National Championships in Cedar Rapids.
The 165-pound Tyler went 2-2 at the meet, with the wins coming by scores of 9-6 and 5-3. His takedown of Menlo College's Carlos Soto just before time expired secured the latter victory.
Hawkins dropped two decisions at 125 pounds, although his opening-round loss to Wayland Baptist's Richard Leal came by just an 8-6 count.

Senior Talor Whitaker (Chesterton) completed her career at Washington State University by setting Cougars records in the 200-yard IM (2:00.42) and as a member of the 400 free relay (3:20.96) at the Pac-10 Championships. Her individual effort in the 200 IM was good enough for Whitaker to garner an NCAA Division I "B” qualifying standard.
She also did likewise by clocking a 54.08 in the 100 butterfly, which placed her 18th overall in that race. In addition, Whitaker swam a personal-best 1:03.86 in the 100 breaststroke, took 22nd in the 100 freestyle (50.69) and completed the 200-yard leadoff leg of the 800 free relay in 1:49.17, the fourth-fastest time in WSU annals.
Freshman Chris Schreier (Portage) became the first South Dakota State male swimmer since 2001 to capture an event at the Summit League Swimming and Diving Championships when he registered a personal-best 1:49.06 in the 200 butterfly. The personal record was one of six Schreier established at the four-day meet.
He wound up with 21 event triumphs in his initial collegiate campaign.

Men's basketball
Brad Karp (Valparaiso) capped a productive initial season at St. Xavier University by getting named Freshman of the Year in Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Division I and being the Cougars' lone representative on the all-conference first team.
Karp ranked among the top 10 performers in the CCAC in six statistical categories, including scoring average (19.2 ppg), rebounding (6.7 rpg), field-goal percentage (54.7) and free-throw percentage (83.2).

Women's basketball
St. Xavier senior Alex Barone (Marian Catholic) was chosen the CCAC Division I Player of the Year. In becoming an all-conference first-teamer for the third consecutive year, Barone ranked third in the CCAC in scoring (15.0 ppg), steals (3.2) and assists (3.0), seventh in field-goal percentage (47.1) and eighth in free-throw percentage (69.6) while also averaging 4.0 rebounds per contest.
Rockford College junior Britney Curry (Merrillville) was picked for the All-Northern Athletics Conference second team after leading the Regents in scoring (15.6 ppg) for the second consecutive season. The all-conference selection was Curry's third in a row.
During the 2010-11 season, Curry became the ninth women's basketball player in Rockford history to surpass the 1,000-point plateau. She is seventh in career steals (174) and blocks (39), eighth in total points (1,082) and 13th in rebounds (456).
The Times welcomes information about local athletes for inclusion in Region Collegians. E-mail Ken Karrson at or fax to (219) 933-3249. Karrson can be reached at (219) 933-3232.

This story appeared at on March 10, 2011.

Community Search
Calendar of Events

Student Music Recital

EDP: Seminar #6 - Conflict Management and Resolution

NICNE Customer Service Workshop

FORUM: Sports Management Symposium

Latest News