Latest News: News Releases

9 receive alumni awards at annual RC reunion

Monday, October 18, 2010  
Share |
For immediate release – 10/18/10
Contact: Chuck Brown, Communications, 815-226-3374

Nine Rockford College alumni garnered honors at the college’s annual Reunion October 15. The prestigious awards honor those who have given service to the college or have excelled in their profession. Here are the award-winners:

Talcott Cross AwardMarci K. Jumisko ’92: The oldest Rockford College award, the Talcott Cross is awarded to an alumna for her constancy, devotion and a long history of meritorious service to Rockford College. Jumisko is the current alumni representative on the college’s board of trustees. She has also served on RC’s strategic planning committee and presidential search committee. She was Alumna of the Year in 2000 and alumni association president from 2001–2004.

Karl C. Williams Award David Rydell ’63: Presented to an alumnus for his constancy, devotion and a long history of meritorious service to Rockford College. Rydell is chair of the college’s board of trustees where he has served as a member since 1994 and treasurer from 2000–2009. He is the immediate past chair of SwedishAmerican Health System and has served also on boards of United Way, YMCA, Midway Village and others.

Award of Distinction – Given to alumni for fulfilling the ideals of Rockford College and bringing honor and esteem to the college in one or more of the following ways; through their vision, dedication, and initiative in a purposeful endeavor; by their responsive and sustained efforts in community improvements; or by their notable achievements in a profession. Winners include:
  • Dr. Hind Rassam Culhane ’60. Career academician. Dean of the School of Social and Behavioral Science at Mercy College, NY. Fulbright Senior Scholar 2000–2001, Damascus, Syria. Served U.S. as senior education advisor to project RISE for the U.S. Department of State, Revitalization of Iraqi Schools, 2003–2004.
  • Marvin S. Cutler ’65 (posthumously). Served 18 years as CFO and director of finance for Spertus Institute, retired 2008. Active volunteer throughout Chicago. In 2007, earned Illinois CPA Society’s Distinguished Service Award for service to nonprofits.

  • Paula Ericson Egelson ’75. Director of research, Southern Regional Education Board. Former director, Center of Partnerships to Improve Education at the College of Charleston (S.C.). Expert in school improvement, university-school partnerships, literacy, and the at-risk learner.

  • Craig Eley ’70. Prehearing Administrative Law Judge for Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation. Past president, Denver Bar Association. Former chair, Colorado Parish Resource Center; past moderator, First Plymouth Congregational Church. Active WRCR alumnus.
Outstanding Young Alumni Award – Cindy O’Brien Harris ’95. Given to an alumna/us who has finished her/his Rockford College tenure within the last 15 years. This alumna/us will have fulfilled the ideals of Rockford College by vision, dedication, and initiative in a purposeful endeavor, or through responsible and sustained efforts in the improvements of a community, or a notable achievement in a profession, thus having brought honor and esteem to Rockford College. Harris is senior marketing communications consultant at Blue Cross Blue Shield, Illinois. She has served on boards for Discovery Center Museum, Visiting Nurses Association and Next Rockford. She was named to Rockford Chamber’s ’09 class of 40 Leaders Under 40.

Alumna/Alumnus of the Year Award – Joel Moore ’00. Honors an alumna and/or alumnus for invaluable service to the alumni association and Rockford College during the past year. Moore is second VP, wealth planning specialist with Morgan Stanley. He spearheaded the largest gathering of RC alumni in 2009 other than Reunion – a gathering of Y2K-era alumni and friends (53 attendees in all – 39 alumni).

Mary Ashby Cheek Award – Gary Lubbert. Given to a past or present non-alumni member of the Rockford College community for enriching the college experience of many by exemplifying the ideals of the college. Lubbert is director of RC’s Return-to-College BSMS program. He is a past recipient of RC’s Excellence in Teaching for full-time faculty and this year’s recipient of RC’s Excellence in Teaching for adjunct faculty.

The awards were presented at the annual all-alumni awards banquet and celebration.

# # # 

Community Search
Calendar of Events

Student Music Recital

EDP: Seminar #6 - Conflict Management and Resolution

NICNE Customer Service Workshop

FORUM: Sports Management Symposium

Songs & Sonnets: A Renaissance Christmas

Latest News