Latest News: In the News

Golden Apple honors five teachers

Friday, March 12, 2010  
Share |

By Cathy Bayer
Posted Mar 12, 2010 @ 07:19 AM
Last update Mar 12, 2010 @ 03:55 PM

The Golden Apple Foundation surprised five teachers in Boone and Winnebago counties this morning with the 2010 Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching.

The winners are Erikka Coletta of Ledgewood School, Shannon Anderson of Prairie Hill School, Patty Crow of Maria Montessori School, Amy Conklin of Windsor Elementary School, and Cindy Adami of Brookview Elementary School.

The finalists, pre-kindergarten through fifth-grade teachers, were chosen from a list of 20 by a committee of community volunteers. The teachers were interviewed and also observed in their classrooms on four separate occasions in January and February.

Each Golden Apple teacher will receive a cash award, a professional development stipend, a Rockford College scholarship, a laptop computer compliments of SupplyCore, a desktop computer compliments of Rockford Computers for Schools and computer software compliments of Entre Computer Solutions and Micrograms Software.

The annual Golden Apple Banquet to honor the recipients is April 30.

2010 Golden Apple Award semifinalists
Cindy Adami, Brookview Elementary School, second grade, Rockford
Shannon Anderson, Prairie Hill Elementary School, kindergarten, South Beloit
Kelli Appino, St. Peter Cathedral School, third grade, Rockford
Bianca Clendening, St. Rita School, fifth grade, Rockford
Judy Chancellor, Gregory Elementary School, kindergarten- fifth-grade reading, Rockford
Erikka Coletta, Ledgewood Elementary School, third grade, Roscoe
Amy Conklin, Windsor Elementary School, second grade, Loves Park
Jaclynn Coomer, Prairie Hill Elementary School, fourth Grade, South Beloit
Patty Crow, Maria Montessori School, pre-kindergarten through kindergarten, Rockford
Dee Gibson, Marsh Elementary School, second grade, Rockford
Ashley Hoffman, Pecatonica Elementary School, second- and third-grade looping, Pecatonica
Valerie Jewell, McNair Elementary School, fifth grade, Winnebago
Debbie Lecuyer, Kinnikinnick Elementary School, fourth grade, Roscoe
Sarah Lynch, Blackhawk Elementary School, fifth-grade writing and language arts, South Beloit
Patty Meissen, Durand Elementary School, second grade, Durand
Tracy Murphy, Spring Creek Elementary School, second grade, Rockford
Aaron Park, Walker Elementary School, kindergarten, Rockford
Kristine Schaefer-Frank, Meehan Elementary School, kindergarten- fifth-grade physical education, Belvidere
Sarah Sheridan, Kishwaukee Elementary School, fifth grade, Rockford
Laura Wanke, Pecatonica Elementary School, first grade, Pecatonica

This story appeared at on March 12, 2010.

Community Search
Calendar of Events

Student Music Recital

EDP: Seminar #6 - Conflict Management and Resolution

NICNE Customer Service Workshop

FORUM: Sports Management Symposium

Latest News