Latest News: News Releases

Students, faculty honored at Rockford College for achievement

Monday, June 15, 2009  
Share |
For immediate release – 6/15/09
Contact: Chuck Brown, Communications, 815-226-3374

Some 75 students and faculty at Rockford College were honored recently for outstanding achievement during an annual honors ceremony.

Among the faculty honorees, Steve Kadamian, assistant professor of economics, business and accounting, received the Community-Based Learning Excellence Award for Outstanding Faculty Member, biology professor Dr. Martha Pippitt received the Excellence in Teaching Award, while Dr. Patricia Walters, professor of religious studies, received the award for an adjunct faculty member.  

Students honored included:

Richard E. Walters, (Union), Francis V. Ellis Award in Classics for Exceptional Achievement in Greek or Latin and Walhout Prize in Philosophy Honoring Dr. Donald Walhout, Professor Emeritus 

Amanda Lovell, (Harvard), David S. Behr Memorial Award

Sable Matula, (Rockton), Cathy Clarry Award in Memory of Cathy Clarry

Kristy Luck, (Rockford), Dedrick Prize in Art in Memory of Philip Dedrick, Professor Emeritus

Tracy Triplett, (Rockford), Mrs. Ruth Keegan Hesler Memorial Award

Martha Vang, (Rockford), Colleen Holmbeck Poetry Prize

Laura Menchaca, (Loves Park), Sally Lo Ware Award for Distinguished Performance in Modern Language

Hannah Stravers, (Kalamazoo), Sally Lo Ware Award for Distinguished Performance in Modern Language and Good Citizenship Award

Phi Sigma Iota Honorary Society in Modern Language: Laura Menchaca, Hannah Stravers, Emilie Viaud, Rafal Krazek, Susan Menchaca

Rebecca Pink, (Rockford), Leonard Bernstein Award in Performing Arts

Kelsey Lovgren, (Roscoe), American Chemical Society Organic Chemistry Award

Vanja Cosic, (Rockford), Chemical Rubber Company Award for Achievement in Freshman Chemistry

Brittany Motter, (Machesney Park), Chemical Rubber Company Award for Achievement in Freshman Chemistry

Danielle Rudesill, (Hartford), C. Robert and Elizabeth Hutchcroft Award for Achievement in Organic Chemistry

Stacy Lidvall, (Rockford), Elizabeth Barrick Research Award

Audra Carlson, (Winnebago), Aline Bartholomew Conklin Award in Mathematics

Mohit Singh, (Rockford), Schumaker Prize in Mathematics in Memory of Dr. John Schumaker, Professor Emeritus and Community-Based Learning Excellence Award for Outstanding Student

Randi Woodward, (Machesney Park), Harriet Rheingold Outstanding Psychology Major Award

Psi Chi Honorary Society in Psychology: Amber Champion, Michelle Craglow, Anastashia Glazier, Brian Miller, Danielle Townsend, Jenna Warren, Randi Woodward

Alix Sauld, (Ripon), Sigma Xi Award

Yasotha Veerayah, Sigma Xi Award

Amy Sherlock, (South Beloit), Delman Prize in Anthropology/Sociology Honoring Dorothy Delman, Professor Emerita

Sherri Sole, (Rockton), Shirl Shanhouse Morris Prize in Sociology

Lora Negrete, (Rockford), Karen Harter Recruitment Grant and Marion Carlson Seedoff Memorial Award for Primary Grade Elementary Education

AnnaLisa Schindler, (Roscoe), Elisabeth Seegmiller Recruitment Grant Delta Kappa Gamma

Elizabeth Jenkins, (Roscoe), Senior History Achievement Award

Lucas Kramer, (Freeport), Senior History Achievement Award

Phi Alpha Theta International Honor Society in History: Christopher D. Brady, Matthew Edwards, John Joseph Gagliano, Denise M. Glasenapp, Kelsey P. Lueshen, Ryan D. Nelson

Tara Steinberg, (Springfield), Political Science Award

Anthony Hardin, (Saint Peters), Good Citizenship Award

Khetsiwe Dlamini, Multicultural Club Award

Phi Beta Kappa National Honor Society: Ali Al-Saraf, Ammar Al-Saraf, Matthew Brynteson, Leann Burmeister, Emily Hoehn, Aaron Insko, Elizabeth Jenkins, Wendy McGath, Mohit Singh, Tara Steinberg, Hannah Stravers, Richard E. Walters, Margaret Westerman

Chi Alpha Sigma National College Athlete Honor Society: Audra Carlson, Michael Catalano, Ricardo Gonzalez, Anthony Hardin, Andrea Hundertmark, Brian Miller, Travis Mohr, Mariana Rosas, Kyle Saunders, Jessica Starr, Danielle Townsend, Emilie Viaud, Jenna Warren, Mayra Yanez

Danielle Jordal, (Rockford), Community-Based Learning Excellence Award for Outstanding Student


Community Search
Calendar of Events

FORUM: Babes In Arms

FORUM: Babes In Arms

FORUM: Babes In Arms

Student Music Recital

Latest News