Latest News: News Releases

Eight receive honors from Rockford College alumni group

Monday, October 20, 2008  
Share |
Eight alumni of Rockford College and a current professor at the college have been honored with awards from the Rockford College Alumni Association.

The awards--the highest given by the association--celebrate outstanding Rockford College graduates and others whose professional achievements, contributions to society, and support for the college exemplify a commitment to the liberal arts.  The awardees include:

  • Talcott Cross: Colleen Kitzmiller Holmbeck ’56, for service to the college and the Rockford community. A college trustee from 1990-1994, she was cited for her dedication to the college and the power of a liberal arts education.  

  • Karl C. Williams Award: James G. Peterson ’71, who has been active with the college for more than 40 years. A former alumni board member and current trustee, Peterson has been active in helping the college create community partnerships. 

In addition, four people received awards of distinction from the association:

  • Michael Broski ’82, president of Entre Computer Solutions and a community volunteer with Rockford Pony Baseball, MELD, and the YMCA. He also serves on the board of the college and the Rockford Chamber of Commerce.
  • Noel Nickel ’90, chief operating officer for Crusader Clinic, which provides free or reduced cost health care for the community. He is active with Family Counseling Services and the college alumni association.

  • Stephen Pitkin ’92, photographer whose images of Gee’s Bend quilts were used for the U.S. Postal Services’ American Treasures stamp series in 2006.

  • Diana Serrano ’73, who has performed outstanding work with World Food Programme, Pan American Health Organization, and as director of human resources with the International Monetary Fund.

Other awards included: 

  • Alumna/us of the Year Award: Bettyann Pappenfus ’99, for her work with the alumni association and for hosting the college Vocal Collective during its spring break trip to the Twin Cities in March.

  • Young Alumni Award: Ron Aitchison ’99, for his leadership of the Alan Hutchcroft Spring Break during which the college sends a contingent to Starkville, Miss. to perform work for Habitat for Humanity.

  • Mary Ashby Cheek Award: Catherine Forslund, Rockford College associate professor of history and advisor to student government, who also is an ex-officio member of the alumni association board.  

The awards were presented at an all-alumni celebration dinner during college reunion festivities.

Community Search
Calendar of Events

Student Music Recital

EDP: Seminar #6 - Conflict Management and Resolution

NICNE Customer Service Workshop

FORUM: Sports Management Symposium

Songs & Sonnets: A Renaissance Christmas

Latest News