Academic Honor Societies
Home > Academics > Academic Honor Societies

Rockford University Academic Honor Societies
At Rockford University, we recognize students’ high academic achievement through a variety of honor societies. After all, you deserve to be recognized for your good work.

Phi Beta Kappa
The Eta of Illinois chapter of Phi Beta Kappa (PBK), a national scholastic honor society, was installed at Rockford University in 1953. It is one of only 11 PBK chapters in the state of Illinois. Election to PBK is the highest academic honor an undergraduate student can receive. Each year during the spring semester, faculty and staff members of PBK review the work of those students eligible for consideration. Election into the society is based on grade point average, good character, and course work demonstrating a clear commitment to the liberal arts. In order to be a member, a student must have taken courses in the areas of literature, history or classical civilization, natural sciences and mathematics, philosophy or social sciences, foreign language, and history or theory of an art form. Senior candidates for all degrees who meet the above criteria and have been in residence at the university for at least four semesters are eligible for election. 

Phi Delta Kappa
Phi Delta Kappa is a profession association for educators.

Psi Chi
Psi Chi is the National Honor Society in Psychology. The purpose of Psi Chi is to encourage, stimulate and maintain excellence in scholarship and advance the science of psychology.

Omicron Delta Epsilon
The Rockford University chapter of Omicron Delta Epsilon, an international economics honorary society, was installed in 1975. The society is dedicated to recognizing outstanding scholastic achievement in economics, and encouraging closer ties between students and faculty within the discipline.

Phi Alpha Theta
Phi Alpha Theta International Honor Society in History installed a chapter at Rockford University in 1987. The society is dedicated to the recognition of outstanding achievement in history. Membership requires at least 12 semester hours of history with a grade point average greater than 3.0, and a minimum 3.0 grade point average overall.

Phi Sigma Iota
The Beta Epsilon chapter of Phi Sigma Iota, a national honorary foreign language society, was installed at Rockford University in 1991. Membership is open to students of modern and classical languages and literature who meet the criteria of the national constitution and local bylaws. 
Community Search
Calendar of Events

Student Music Recital

EDP: Seminar #6 - Conflict Management and Resolution

NICNE Customer Service Workshop

FORUM: Sports Management Symposium

Latest News