Excellence In Teaching Award
Home > Academics > Academic Affairs > Academic Affairs Resources > Excellence in Teaching Award


Outstanding teaching deserves recognition. The Excellence in Teaching Award is awarded to faculty members who demonstrate exemplary teaching.

The criteria for both the full-time and adjunct faculty awards are the same, except that consideration must be given to the limited capacity of the adjunct faculty function to encompass advising and campus leadership, and with an emphasis on excellence in teaching.
  • Knowledge of his/her discipline
  • Respect for students
  • Creative course development
  • Advising
  • Campus Leadership
Nominations submitted by faculty, staff, students and alumni are evaluated by a five-member committee, consisting of last year’s winner, the vice president for academic affairs and dean of the university, an alumnus/a member of the Board of Counselors, chair of the Faculty Development Committee (or designee) and Student Government President (or designee).


Full-Time Faculty

Lynn Stafford, 2013
Don Martin, 2012
Jeff Fahrenwald, 2011
Stephen Hicks, 2010
Martha Pippitt, 2009
Timothy Adams, 2008
Barb Swanson, 2007
Joel Tibbetts, 2006
Jennifer Langworthy, 2005
Catherine Forslund, 2004
Alan Hutchcroft, 2003
Deb Breiter, 2002
Hank Espensen, 2001
Gary Lubbert, 2000
Belinda Wholeben, 1999
Marylin Greer, 1998
Lou Ferroli, 1997
Justine Walhout, 1996
Christine Bruun, 1995
Fred Hadley, 1994
John Glass, 1993
Rulee Stallmann, 1992
Marjorie Slavens, 1991
Jerry Caton, 1990
Adjunct Faculty

Raymond James, 2013
Not Awarded, 2012
Sherry Zenk, 2011
Gary Lubbert, 2010
Patricia Walters, 2009
Jackie DeVries, 2008
Donna Werderich, 2007
Elaine Sharpe, 2006
Clare Landry, 2005

Community Search
Calendar of Events

Student Music Recital

EDP: Seminar #6 - Conflict Management and Resolution

NICNE Customer Service Workshop

FORUM: Sports Management Symposium

Latest News