Teacher Education

Students interested in becoming certified to teach physical education at the elementary, middle or high school level must complete all the Rockford University requirements, physical education core requirements, a minor in secondary education, and additional general education requirements for Illinois State Certification.

In addition, to receive Illinois teaching certification, students must pass a Basic Content-area test, and Assessment of Professional Teaching test as required by the state of Illinois. Additional information including testing dates, registration information, and study guides are available at the IL Certification Testing Systems Web site at www.icts.nesinc.com.


Physical Education Teacher Standards (NASPE)

Standard 1. Content Knowledge.
Physical education teachers understand physical education content and disciplinary concepts related to the development of a physically educated person.

Standard 2. Growth and Development.
Physical education teachers understand how individuals learn and develop and can provide opportunities that support their physical, cognitive, social, and emotional development.

Standard 3. Diverse Students.
Physical education teachers under­stand how individuals differ in their approaches to learning, and create appropriate instruction adapted to these differences.

Standard 4. Management and Motivation.
Physical education teachers use an understanding of individual and group motivation and behavior to create a safe learning environment that encourages positive social interaction, active engagement in learning, and self-motivation.

Standard 5. Communication.
Physical education teachers use knowledge of effective verbal, nonverbal, and media communication techniques to enhance learning and engagement in physical activity settings.

Standard 6. Planning and Instruction.
Physical education teachers plan and implement a variety of developmentally appropriate instructional strategies to develop physically educated individuals, based on state and national (NASPE K-12) standards.

Standard 7. Student Assessment.
Physical education teachers understand and use assessment to foster physical, cognitive, social, and emotional development of students in physical activity.

Standard 8. Reflection.
Physical education teachers are reflective practitioners who evaluate the effects of their actions on others (e.g., students, parents/guardians, fellow professionals), and seek opportunities to grow professionally.

Standard 9. Technology.
Physical education teachers use information technology to enhance learning and to enhance personal and professional productivity.

Standard 10. Collaboration.
Physical education teachers foster relationships with colleagues, parents/guardians, and community agencies to support students' growth and well-being.